Minimum Wage - BBC Sessions (& Others)

by Sea Pinks

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Purchasable with gift card

      £5 GBP  or more


Minimum Wage 03:37
False Spring 02:08
Watercourse 02:55


Minimum Wage collects together all eight BBC session tracks recorded by Sea Pinks since 2012 along with three brand new recordings, including the all new title track.

Opener Minimum Wage, recorded at the all analogue Lullabye Factory studio in Amsterdam during a day off from their 2017 European Tour, is three and a half minutes of fuzzed out tour fatigue and exasperation caught in a single take on two inch tape. It’s a much more abrasive sound than those who have only heard Sea Pinks on record will be accustomed to, but it captures the frenetic, borderline aggressive energy of the band at their live best. “I’m sick of complaining” sings Neil Brogan, and he sounds it, the oxymoronic refrain of the verse bleeding into the fuzztoned euphoria of the wordless chorus. It’s a blistering opening to this compilation of sessions, the bulk of which come from the band’s three BBC performances recorded in 2012 and 2016 respectively. Revisiting albums from Dead Seas and Freak Waves to Soft Days and Watercourse the album also features a killer, definitive new version of their debut single Japanese Knotweed. Across its eleven tracks Minimum Wage works both as a companion to the band’s studio output of the last seven years and as a short, sharp, catalogue spanning Iive set in its own right.

"Each release marks a more dynamic step forward for the band, yet one thing remains a constant: a bittersweet approach to pop, and a buoyant, melodic instinct." Clash


released December 8, 2017

Sea Pinks:

Neil Brogan (Guitar/Vocals)
Steven Henry (Bass/Backing Vocals)
Davey Agnew (Drums/Backing Vocals)


Phil Quinn (Lead Guitar on 2, 3, 4, 9, 10)

Tracks 1, 7, 11 recorded live at The Lullabye Factory, Amsterdam 04/06/2017.
Engineered by Tim van Veen, Frank Hartog & Christoph Walter.

Tracks 2, 3, 4, 9, 10 recorded 01/10/2012 at BBC Broadcasting House, Belfast. Engineered by Paul McClean.

Tracks 5, 6, 8 recorded 23/03/16 at BBC Blackstaff Studios, Belfast.
Engineered by Martin McCullough.

Tracks 2, 3, 4 TX 01/10/12 - Across The Line, BBC Radio Ulster.
Tracks 9, 10 TX 04/10/12 - Electric Mainline, BBC Radio Foyle.
Tracks 5, 6, 8 TX 28/10/16 - Across The Line, BBC Radio Ulster.

Tracks 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9,10 (p) 2017 BBC. Licensed courtesy of BBC Worldwide.

All songs (c) 2010-2017 by Neil Brogan.

Cover by Lucy Jones.


all rights reserved



Sea Pinks Belfast, UK

A band from Belfast inspired by sea glass, bleached grass and ghost guitars.

contact / help

Contact Sea Pinks

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Sea Pinks, you may also like: